Genesis

When I lived in India I went to boarding school in Tamil Nadu. There was this girl from the Netherlands named Jacaranda that lived in my dorm.  She was quiet, but fierce.  She had this one method of rebellion in her arsenal that was meant (I believe) to punish our houseparents for being jerks. (I recently determined that they were not in fact jerks.  They were in charge of 30 spoiled kids from around the world who had NO respect for them whatsoever.  Sorry Gary and Alice Paul…you did really, really well considering what you had to put up with.)  Anyway, Jacaranda would play a record at full volume, on repeat, and open the windows to her room then leave the compound, locking the door behind her.  Because of her, and one day in particular when the album was No Jacket Required I have always LOATHED the music of Phil Collins.

But lately, when I hear Phil Collins I’m not making sue sue suedio jokes.  I’m turning up the volume and singing along.  And I’m not even embarrassed about it.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, I forgive you Jacaranda.  It only took 25 years, but I can finally enjoy Phil and his music.  I wonder if Gary and Alice are there yet?

Leave a Reply

